Everything You Need to Know about the 10 Regions of Guyana

Everything You Need to Know about the 10 Regions of Guyana

In terms of its geographical features, culture, and population, Guyana is an incredibly diverse nation. It is home to almost 748,000 citizens dispersed across nearly 215,000 square kilometers. Here, we explore Guyana’s 10 regions, their capitals, and their unique attractions.

1. Barima-Waini

This region of Guyana mostly consists of forested highland, bordered by a strip of coastal plain to the north. Barima-Waini’s main industry is logging, with local tropical rainforests yielding a variety of different hardwoods and timber. Mining for diamonds and gold is also carried out throughout the region.

Shell Beach is a popular Barima-Waini attraction. It is the only beach in the world to host four separate species of sea turtle, including the almost-extinct Olive Ridgeley, as well as the Grant Letterback, the world’s largest turtle species.

2. Pomeroon-Supenaam

This region of Guyana is comprised of low coastal plains and forested highland, as well as a small proportion of the country’s hilly sand and clay areas. Pomeroon-Supenaam is also home to people from many Amerindian tribes.

Lying on the west bank of the Essequibo River, Pomeroon-Supenaam’s capital Anna Regina was the result of a government land development scheme. It includes numerous former plantations, including Lima, Henrietta, and La Belle Alliance.

Agriculture is a common vocation locally, with rice produced in the region sold domestically and exported abroad. Coconut is another ubiquitous crop. The area is also popular with beef and dairy farmers.

3. Essequibo Islands-West Demerara

This region is densely populated by Guyanese standards, with a population of more than 107,000 people living within just under 4,000 square kilometers. The capital is Vreed en Hoop.

Essequibo Islands-West Demerara consists of hilly sand and clay. There is also some low coastland and a small proportion of forested highland. It is home to many beef, dairy, sugar cane, and coconut farmers.

4. Demerara-Mahaica

Named after the Demerara and Mahaica Rivers, this region of Guyana consists predominantly of low coastal plain. Georgetown, Guyana’s capital city, lies within the region of Demerara-Mahaica. It has a total population of more than 313,000 people living within just over 2,000 square kilometers.

The region is comprised of numerous sugar estates under the ownership and control of the Guyana Sugar Corporation. Many local families tend their own smallholdings, producing modest amounts of meat and dairy.

5. Mahaica-Berbice

Mahaica-Berbice is home to almost 50,000 Guyanese living within just over 4,000 square kilometers. Its capital is Fort Wellington.

Rice farming is the principal economic activity of this Guyanese region. Local Amerindians living throughout the area are famous for producing tibisiri baskets, nibbi furniture, and other artisanal pieces which they sell locally to make a living.

6. East Berbice-Corentyne

East Berbice-Corentyne is the only region to feature three towns, namely Rose Hall, Corriverton, and New Amsterdam. Its capital is New Amsterdam. It is home to nearly 110,000 Guyanese dispersed across more than 36,000 square kilometers.

7. Cuyuni-Mazaruni

Cuyuni-Mazaruni is home to eight Amerindian settlements. Crops grown locally provide sustenance for workers employed by the local diamond and gold mines. This region of Guyana also boasts the impressive Pakaraima mountain range, including Mount Roraima, the 2,810-meter-high summit where Guyana, Venezuela, and Brazil meet.

8. Potaro-Siparuni

The capital of Potaro-Siparuni is Mahdia. Diamond and gold mining are common throughout the region. The largest of these is owned by the Mazda Mining Company Ltd.

Potaro-Siparuni is home to just over 10,000 Guyanese citizens inhabiting an area of more than 20,000 square kilometers. Predominantly composed of forested highland, Potaro-Siparuni is home to the world-famous Orinduik and Kaieteur Falls. The latter is one of the world’s highest single-drop waterfalls and one of the most spectacular sights in all of Guyana.

9. Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

This region of Guyana covers more than 57,000 square kilometers. It is lightly populated, with just over 24,000 residents. Consisting mainly of grassy savannahs, this region is popular with beef farmers. Lethem is the capital of the Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region.

Semiprecious stones are mined in the Kamoa Mountains. Local Amerindian tribes are famous for producing a variety of craft items. Most of these are sold across the border in Brazil, since this region is geographically remote from the rest of the Guyana, with transportation prohibitively expensive.

10. Upper Demerara-Berbice

The Upper Demerara-Berbice Region incorporates more than 17,000 square kilometers of land and is home to almost 40,000 Guyanese citizens. Its capital is Linden. The region is rich in bauxite deposits, with the exported mineral forming a vital component of Guyana’s GDP.

Also located within the Upper Demerara-Berbice Region is the Iwokrama Rainforest. This protected area is rich in indigenous wildlife species, including the scarlet macaw and famous cock-of-the-rock.

GBTI supports customers in all 10 regions of Guyana.

Guyana’s leading bank provides innovative financial solutions, supporting customers throughout the country. GBTI is proud to support Guyana’s Indigenous Heritage Month. It hosts a variety of events at all of its branches to celebrate Guyana’s indigenous peoples.